What is co-governance?

The term co-governance with relation to the former Residential Red Zone refers to Treaty partnerships in governance between the mana whenua, the groups that hold rangatiratanga over the place, and community (Council).

AvON have advocated for co-governance of the Ōtākaro Avon River Corridor since our formation in 2012. Over the years we have held forums to debate the various structures and helped to inform other documents and symposiums on the topic.

Waygreen Ave pre Quake

Ngāi Tahu’s Dr Te Marie Tau and former Mayor Lianne Dalziel: Photo Chris Skelton/Stuff

What are the co-governance options being considered?

A number of options had been considered and debated over the years. AvON published “Where to from here“, an article outlining a proposed structure for debate in 2018 and a great document was produced by the University of Canterbury in 2019 following a Symposium held with all major stakeholders.

Subsequently, further workshops have been held on the topic with significant input from Chris Finlayson, Chrissie Williams, and others to form a terms of reference to start the work on developing the best structure.

Where are we today?

The Establishment group has been formed and will be co-chaired by former Mayor Lianne Dalziel and Ngāi Tūāhuriri Upoko Te Maire Tau.

Other appointed members are Tania Wati, Dr John Reid, Thomas Hildebrand, Tutehounuku Korako, Hayley Guglietta, Dr Cynthia Roberts, Julyan Falloon, and Cr Kelly Barbour.